Round Peg, Square Hole

A few weeks ago I experienced a whole new level of “closeness” to my mother.

During a visit to celebrate my graduation, my mom and dad took me to IKEA to help pick up a shelf I wanted for my graduation present.  (Yeah, I wanted a shelf – deal with it.)

Going against my gut feeling, I agreed that we only take my parent’s rental car, instead of both that car and my own.  The back seat of the car folded down in separate sections so we could easily slide the boxes in and still leave a seat available for me in the back.

Well, here’s a lesson we should have learned from the HGTV star designers: measure twice…drive to IKEA once.  After purchasing the two boxes of parts needed to assemble my fab new shelf, we quickly realized that when stacking the boxes, they were too thick to slide through the space connecting the trunk and the back seat.  Soooo typical.

The solution?  Folding down the entire back seat, shoving the two boxes in side by side, and then shoving my mother and I in the front seat side by side.  Actually, it wasn’t so much side by side as partially stacked.  Within the first few minutes of our 40 minute ride back to my apartment my left butt cheek and upper thigh were already numb.  Needless to say, this is an experience I would like to avoid in the future.

Now, I know I’m not the only one who has had issues fitting a round peg into a square hole (though hopefully for others it doesn’t result in body parts going numb); and we all have to admit this is a very frustrating experience…ESPECIALLY when it involves moving furniture.

Wouldn’t it be great if houses and apartments all had extra-wide doors and hallways so your favorite oversized couch could be easily maneuvered through your new place, and you could avoid putting holes in the walls on day one.  Or…

…your beloved couch finds a new home in the parking lot.  Maybe this is why we see so many lonely couches sitting on the side of the road waiting for a new home.

So what’s the lesson we’ve learned today, kids?  Always have an interior designer from HGTV buy new furniture for every new home/apartment you have and let them worry about measuring and moving the furniture in.

Hey, it’s the American dream: hiring someone else to do your dirty work!

Is your furniture failing to fit in in your new apartment community?  Share with us at blog@beyondwineandcheese.com! 

0 Responses to “Round Peg, Square Hole”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets from Beyond Wine & Cheese Marketing

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 639 other followers


