There’s a (Pool) Party in My Bedroom…All Night Long!

I can’t speak for the rest of the country, but SUMMAH TIME has FINALLY arrived in Seattle, and I couldn’t be happier…with one exception: no pool.

When I was little, I used to say if I could be any animal, I would want to be a fish so I never had to leave the water.  Of course, now that I’m working full time and have to face the stresses of being out in the real world, I would choose the stress-free life of a cat, but my love of swimming hasn’t died.  In fact, I choose to break the bank every month with a membership to LA Fitness just for the lap pool.  Unfortunately, I didn’t realize until it was too late that their pool is over-chlorinated.  I mean, really, are the other adults at lap swim relieving themselves?

Actually, I don’t want to know.

Now, I will be the first to admit, it seems kind of silly to have a pool in Seattle.  It costs how much and you can only use it for maybe three months out of the year without freezing your tushy off?  So, I can’t be too upset that my new apartment building doesn’t have a pool.  In terms of amenities, I would have to choose a washer/dryer in-unit over a community pool.

But what to do about those occasional unbearably hot days?  I have yet to meet anyone else in the area who has a house or apartment with air conditioning (so Nordstrom, here I come!), and standing in front of the freezer with the door open is just going to send my utility bill out the roof.

Now, when I was younger, the solution was one of those little plastic pools from Toys ‘R Us – actually, not just one, but many.  Seriously, those things got holes faster than a lawn being aerated.  Regardless, they provided hours of entertainment and relief from the 70 degree heat!  (Hey, I said we were in Seattle, not Florida.)  So maybe we were on to something as kids that’ll come in handy with these pool-less apartments…

Aaaaahhhhh, sweet SUMMAH TIME!

PS: Don’t forget the renter’s insurance!

Is your apartment community cooling down in creative ways?  Share with us at blog@beyondwineandcheese.com! 

0 Responses to “There’s a (Pool) Party in My Bedroom…All Night Long!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets from Beyond Wine & Cheese Marketing

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 639 other followers


