When Your Newsfeed Turns Into a Broken Record

Social media is one of those marketing tools that can work to your advantage if you know how to use it, or give you a bad rep if you don’t.  Well, I guess that’s true for ALL marketing, but since social media is still so new to many people, I see it hurt a lot more than I see it help.

One of my biggest pet peeves, as both a Twitter follower and Facebook fan of businesses, is seeing a misunderstanding of how to use the two websites differently.  I get really bored when I get on Twitter after checking Facebook and see the exact same things posted on both websites.  I understand this practice to an extent, but come on, you can put in a little more effort than having Facebook and Twitter connected so that your FB statuses are Tweeted (and vice versa) by the magical Internet fairies.

Along the same lines, if you are in charge of social media for numerous apartment communities under a larger company, you need to spice things up.  As a FB fan of yours, I want to see posts relevant to the area that your apartment community is located.  I want to feel as though you actually are engaging me in conversation.  However, if I am a fan of all (or even just a few) of your apartment community’s FB pages, any insincerity or repetition will be more than obvious.

So, for the sake of experimentation and proving a point, let’s check my Facebook News Feed for the latest:

Wow!  They sure care about how my week is going!  Let’s tell all of Indiana (and Miamisburg, OH) how I’m doing!

“My week is going pretty well!  I’m busy too – lot’s of Facebooking to do!”

“My week is going pretty well!  I’m busy too – lot’s of Facebooking to do!”

“My week is going pretty well!  I’m busy too – lot’s of Facebooking to do!”

“My week is going pretty well!  I’m busy too – lot’s of Facebooking to do!”

“My week is going pretty well!  I’m busy too – lot’s of Facebooking to do!”

“My week is going pretty well!  I’m busy too – lot’s of Facebooking to do!”

“My week is going pretty well!  I’m busy too – lot’s of Facebooking to do!”

………

Anyone else sick of this?  I thought so.  Point made?  Good.  Next time, change the wording or throw in something about the weather specific to each city… Geez.  In their defense, though, at least it wasn’t repeat posts letting me know they have a two-bedroom apartment available and I should lease now.

Is your Facebook community filling up your newsfeed with repetitive messages?  Share with us at blog@beyondwineandcheese.com!

0 Responses to “When Your Newsfeed Turns Into a Broken Record”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets from Beyond Wine & Cheese Marketing

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 639 other followers


