When Craigslist Ads are as Disappointing as Blind Dates

Blind dates are a scary thing.  Say a friend of yours wanted to set you up with one of their coworkers.  They describe him as tall with dark hair and a very funny personality.  Doesn’t sound too bad, right?  So you agree to go, and when you get there, you see this:

Now don’t you wish you asked for a picture first?  Well, a few months ago when I was looking for a new apartment on Craigslist, I refused to even look at postings that didn’t have pictures.  I mean, you can’t always trust the description (just like in that blind date scenario) – seeing what it actually looks like is crucial.  For example, someone might say something like this:

And you think, “WOW!  A custom home sounds pretty nice – especially right on the water!  I hope they have a picture so I can see what it looks like!”  Luckily, they do:

Wow is right.  They really added a lot of custom features there.  And the window placement is so…unique.  Plus, the view of the bay is just…beautiful.

Another example is when someone says the house or apartment will come furnished.  When I see this:

I think, “Fantastic!  I don’t have to worry about buying a bunch of new furniture.  And I’m sure it’s a lot nicer than what I could afford.”  But then I see this:

I’m sorry, but is that a double bed on a single bed frame?  Really?  *Sigh*

And then there are those posts where maybe the person didn’t rant and rave about the backyard, but then you wonder – why would they bother posting this:

I sure hope it isn’t cause the backyard is one of the shining features of the house.  I mean, I’m all for water conservation, but all I can think about is having to deal with this much dead grass.  Living in an apartment building where I don’t have a yard sounds a lot more appealing now.  Take me back to the concrete jungle!!

Do your pictures fail to match up with what you’re offering?  Show us at blog@beyondwineandcheese.com!

1 Response to “When Craigslist Ads are as Disappointing as Blind Dates”


  1. 1 Chad December 18, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Do you know were I can get a bedspread in that same color?


Leave a Reply

Tweets from Beyond Wine & Cheese Marketing

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 639 other followers


