Which Witch is Which?

I’ve learned over the years that you must be very careful when using phrases that have double meanings.  My point is well illustrated by the “That’s What She Said” (TWSS) craze, which takes an innocent sounding statement and turns it into something dirty.  It became really popular when Michael Scott (on The Office) added TWSS to his silly antics, but I have yet to incorporate it deeply enough into my thought process to shout it out when someone says something TWSS-worthy.  That’s probably a good thing so I don’t annoy friends with it or accidently say it at work when the occasion arises.

However, I still find phrases with double meanings or dirty undertones pretty amusing, so I was thrilled to stumble upon a few Craigslist apartment headlines like that when I was working on Tuesday’s blog post.  The first took me a minute to figure out:

My first thought was, Why would they admit that the building manager is crazy? Is there a market for people who want crazy managers?  Then I figured it must be someone complaining on Craigslist about having a crazy manager – but it wouldn’t make any sense that they were posting a price.  Finally I realized, Oooooh, the manager is supposedly “crazy” for renting the apartment at a low price!  Maybe I’m not the brightest crayon in the box, but I wouldn’t say I’m a few fries short of a Happy Meal either, so if it took me this long to realize what the headline was implying, maybe they should reconsider advertising that the manager is crazy the next time they post.

The next headline actually made me blush a little when I came across it:

Oh my!  I don’t even want to know what goes on in this house…  But really, is it just me or should the person posting this rethink their word choices?  Let’s keep it PG, people!

I even found one headline that I wasn’t sure was actually advertising an apartment:

I think this exact same headline was flashing on the billboard of a “gentlemen’s club” that I pass every day on the bus.  All I can say is that it must be men – bored and lonely men – who are posting these Craigslist ads.  Didn’t your mother ever tell you, don’t mix business with pleasure?  Oh, and she probably didn’t tell you this, but my advice would be to avoid calling your manager crazy.  Yeah…

Is your apartment building sending mixed messages?  Share with us at blog@beyondwineandcheese.com!

0 Responses to “Which Witch is Which?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets from Beyond Wine & Cheese Marketing

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 639 other followers


